President's Cancer Panel

Promoting Value, Affordability, and Innovation in Cancer Drug Treatment



The President’s Cancer Panel is grateful to all who participated in the series workshops (see Series Information for a complete list of participants). The Panel is particularly appreciative of Gary Gilliland, MD, PhD, President and Director, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, who served as series co-chair, and Ann Geiger, PhD, MPH, Deputy Associate Director, Healthcare Delivery Research Program, Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences, National Cancer Institute. Both provided invaluable input during workshop planning and report preparation.

The Panel also is appreciative of thoughtful comments provided by U.S. Food and Drug Administration representatives and the individuals listed below, all of whom reviewed whole or partial drafts of the report. Acknowledgment of the important role of these reviewers should not be interpreted as endorsement of the Panel’s positions or recommendations.

Randy Burkholder, Vice President, Policy and Research, PhRMA

Robert Croyle, PhD, Director, Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences, National Cancer Institute

Stacie Dusetzina, PhD, Assistant Professor, Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Gillings School of Global Public Health, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Clifford Hudis, MD, FACP, Chief Executive Officer, American Society of Clinical Oncology

Susan Janeczko, JD, PharmD, Senior Health Insurance Specialist, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Aaron Kesselheim, MD, JD, Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School; Director, Program on Regulation, Therapeutics, and Law (PORTAL), Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Barnett Kramer, MD, MPH, Director, Division of Cancer Prevention, National Cancer Institute

Ellen Lukens, MPH, Division Director, Ambulatory Payment Models, Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Sharyl Nass, PhD, Director, National Cancer Policy Forum; Director, Board on Health Care Services, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Lee Newcomer, MD, Senior Vice President, Oncology, UnitedHealthcare

Scott Ramsey, MD, PhD, Director, Hutchinson Institute for Cancer Outcomes Research, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Andrew Schorr, MS, President and Co-Founder, Patient Power, LLC

Norman Sharpless, MD, Director, National Cancer Institute

James Zwiebel, MD, Chief, Investigational Drug Branch, Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program, Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis, National Cancer Institute

Special thanks to Robert Mittman, MS, MPP, who facilitated the series workshops and was essential to the planning and effective execution of the series. Stephanie Brown, MSOD, provided excellent graphic facilitation services.

The Panel also acknowledges the efforts and contributions of Panel staff and support staff:

Robert Bell Benjamin Neal Abby Sandler, PhD
Janet Braun, CMP Katherine Nicol, MS Rachel Wojnilower
Rachel Hanisch, PhD, MPH Lisa Paradis, MPH Dana Young, JD
Erin Milliken, PhD Suzanne Reuben  
Robert Bell Lisa Paradis, MPH
Janet Braun, CMP Suzanne Reuben
Rachel Hanisch, PhD, MPH Abby Sandler, PhD
Erin Milliken, PhD Rachel Wojnilower
Benjamin Neal Dana Young, JD
Katherine Nicol, MS